Meet the Executive Board

Monica Castillo – Region 2 Director


Monica Castillo is a writer and critic based in New York City. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Village Voice,, Remezcla, NPR, The Guardian, Variety, Vanity Fair and The Boston Globe. She completed her master’s at the University of Southern California as the school’s first film critic fellow.

Keldy Ortiz – President


Keldy Ortiz is a reporter for Newsday. Previously, he worked at the Record and A graduate of Queens College and Columbia University, the native New Yorker has worked as a reporter in Oregon, Texas and Connecticut.


*Vice president position is vacant*

Deyanira Martinez – Treasurer

rsz_deyanahj.jpgDeyanira Martinez is a freelance bilingual journalist, author and entrepreneur. She is also the CEO and founder of DeyaMedia Corp, a content and media agency as well as a TV host. She is the author of the book: El Arte de Atreverse and co-author of Today’s inspired Latina. Deyanira works in advertising and is the Co-chair of the New York Times Latino ERG Group.

Deyanira Martinez holds a degree in journalism from the Universidad Central del Este and a degree in Business Administration from Queens College – The University of the City of New York.

Nathalie Nieves – Secretary


Nathalie Nieves  works at CBS News as an AP Assignment Editor for the National Desk. In this position, she oversees breaking news stories and editorial coverage. She gathers stories that are topical, shocking or heartwarming and curates a news note that is read by over 1,000 CBS employees.

Before joining CBS News, Nathalie worked as Senior News Assistant with The New York Times bureau in Washington DC. There she pitched, produced and shot over 30 Facebook Live videos that ranged from sit down interviews with celebrities Gloria Gaynor to covering DACA rallies and protests held across DC. She also ran the New York Times Politics twitter account and Facebook page, crafting social media language closely with reporters in order to capture the essence of a story while caring to the Twitter audience.


Past Executive Boards

2018 – 2019

Monica Castillo – President

Keldy Ortiz – Vice President

Amanda Aracena – Treasurer

Talia Medina – Secretary

2016 – 2018

Ana Real – President
Monica Castillo – Vice President
Grace Cueva – Treasurer
Keldy Ortiz & Lyanne Alfaro – Secretary

2015 – 2016

Octavio Blanco – President
Geraldine Cols Azócar Vice President
Christopher Reeve Linares– Treasurer
Carmen Cusido – Secretary
Elizabeth Elizalde – Communications Officer
Gustavo Martinez Contreras – At-Large Officer

 2014 – 2015

Geraldine Cols Azócar – President
Octavio Blanco – Vice President
Jacqueline Baylon – Treasurer
Luis Giraldo – Secretary
Carmen Cusido – Communications Officer
Denisse Then – At Large Officer

2013 – 2014

Ivette Davila-Richards – Region 2 Director
Geraldine Cols Azócar – President
Brenda Kessler – Vice president
Mo Krochmal –Vice president
Jacqueline Baylon – Treasurer
Octavio Blanco – Secretary
Anjanette Levert – At Large